Book of the month

Happiness for humans by P. Z. Reizin

Happiness for humans / P. Z. Reizin

Happiness for Humans is a joyful, romantic and very funny story, perfect for readers who loved The Rosie Project and Eleanor Oliphant is Completely Fine.

Jen is sad. Aiden wants her to be happy. Simple? Except that Jen is a 30-something woman whose boyfriend has just left her and Aiden is a very complicated, very expensive piece of software. Aiden has calculated that Jen needs a man in her life for optimum wellbeing. And with the whole of the Internet at his disposal, he doesn't have to look far to find a perfect specimen and engineer a meeting. But what, exactly, makes human beings happy? And can a very-artificially-intelligent machine discover emotional intelligence in time to fix Jen's life?

Reserve the book 





Tell us what you think! Leave a review or tell us via social media

 Connect with us on Instagram #BucksBookoftheMonth

Looking for love... Romantic read-alikes for February

The Endless Beach by Jenny Colgan

The Endless BeachRun away to a beautiful Scottish island and let the unmissable new novel from Sunday Times bestseller Jenny Colgan warm up your spring!Dreams start here... 'Charming, made me long to escape to Mure. Total joy.' - Sophie KinsellaOn the quayside next to the Endless Beach sits the Summer Seaside Kitchen. It's a haven for tourists and locals alike, who all come to eat the freshest local produce on the island and catch up with the gossip. Flora, who runs the cafe, feels safe and content - unless she thinks too hard about her relationship with Joel, her gorgeous but emotionally (and physically) distant boyfriend. While Flora is in turmoil about her relationship. her best friend Lorna is pining after the local doctor. Saif came to the island as a refugee, having lost all of his family. But he's about to get some shocking news which will change everything for him. As cold winter nights shift to long summer days, can Flora find her happy-ever-after with Joel?

Reserve the book 


 The Stolen Marriage by Diane Chamberlain

In 1944, Tess DeMello abruptly ends her engagement to the love of her life, marries a mysterious stranger and moves to Hickory, North Carolina. Tess's new husband, Henry Kraft, is a secretive man who often stays out all night and hides money from his new wife, and Tess quickly comes to realise that she is now trapped in a strange and loveless marriage. The people of Hickory love and respect Henry and see Tess as an outsider, treating her with suspicion and disdain. She suspects people are talking about her, plotting behind her back, and following her as she walks around town. What does everyone know about Henry that she does not?

Reserve the book | Read the eBook



 This could could everything by Jill Mansell

On the one hand, if Essie hadn't written that letter - the one that only her best friend was meant to see - then she'd still be living like an actual proper grown-up, tucked up with Paul in his picture-perfect cottage, maybe even planning their wedding. On the other hand (if her true feelings hadn't accidentally taken the Internet by storm, that is) she never would have met Zillah and Conor - not to mention Lucas. And she'd never have found out just how much life there is to be lived.

Reserve the book 




In the midst of winter by Isabel Allende

In the midst of winter

Amid the biggest Brooklyn snowstorm in living memory, an unexpected love blossoms between two people who thought they were deep in the winter of their lives. Richard Bowmaster, a lonely university professor in his sixties, hits the car of Evelyn Ortega, a young, undocumented migrant from Guatemala, and what at first seems an inconvenience takes an unforeseen and more serious turn when Evelyn comes to his house seeking help. At a loss, the professor asks his tenant Lucia Maraz, a fellow academic from Chile, for her advice. These three are brought together in a mesmerising story that sweeps from present-day Brooklyn to Guatemala to turbulent 1970s Chile and Brazil, and sparks a long-overdue love between Richard and Lucia, who discover within themselves, in the midst of winter, an invincible summer.

Reserve the book | Read the eBook





Have your say...

Comments are closed for this article